When do AI training platforms pay? Payout schedules compared

Pay days, payout methods and minimums for 16 active platforms, from each platform's own pages. Last checked October 30, 2026.

The short answer

  • Weekly: Outlier processes payments every Tuesday, and Mercor pays hourly contractors every Wednesday around 12:00 PM Pacific. [source] [source]
  • Twice a month: Mindrift pays on the 5th and 20th for tasks accepted in the previous half-month. [source]
  • On request: DataAnnotation pays through PayPal when you ask, and Prolific lets you cash out once your balance reaches £6 or $6, at most once every 24 hours. [source] [source]
  • Your first payout can be slower. Mercor says Stripe holds a contractor's first payout for 7 days. [source]
  • Minimums are rare but real: OneForma's is typically $10, and smaller balances roll into the next cycle. [source]

All 16 platforms

From our directory. Each row shows the date we last checked that platform; "Not published" means the platform doesn't say.

PlatformWhen it paysHowMinimum
Outlier
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly on Tuesdays (work from previous Tuesday–Monday, UTC)PayPal, Airtm, ACH bank transferNot published
DataAnnotation
Checked October 18, 2026
On request; deposits within a few daysPayPal (USD)Not published
Alignerr
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly: Monday–Sunday work paid by the following FridayStripe or PayPal (one provider per country), Upwork (if hired via Upwork)Not published
Mercor
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly on Wednesdays (~12:00 PM PT)Stripe Connect (bank), Wise (where Stripe unavailable, e.g. Brazil, Nepal, Turkey, UAE)Not stated; first Stripe payout has a 7-day hold
Mindrift
Checked October 18, 2026
Twice monthly (around the 5th and 20th)Payoneer, Tipalti (bank transfer or PayPal)Depends on payment provider
Handshake AI Fellowship
Checked October 18, 2026
WeeklyPaid directly by Handshake (method not stated on the FAQ)Not published
Prolific
Checked October 18, 2026
Cash out on demand (once per 24 hours; 72 hours for new accounts)PayPal (via Hyperwallet)£6 / $6 combined balance
Clickworker
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly bill run (Wednesday–Friday)PayPal, Payoneer, SEPA, ACH (US), Direct bank transfer (non-EU), eWallet, Airtm€10 PayPal/SEPA, $10 ACH, €/$20 Payoneer and non-EU bank
OneForma
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly or bi-weekly by project; arrives 2–3 business days after cyclePayoneer, PayPal (capped at $300/year), Tipalti, Bank transfer (China only)$10
TELUS Digital AI Community
Checked October 18, 2026
Not publishedHyperwallet (bank transfer or PayPal where supported)Not published
micro1
Checked October 18, 2026
Semi-monthly (around the 5th and 20th)Deel (USD)Not published
Meridial (by Invisible)
Checked October 18, 2026
Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Turing
Checked October 18, 2026
Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Welo Data
Checked October 18, 2026
Not publishedNot publishedNot published
RWS TrainAI
Checked October 18, 2026
Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Snorkel Expert Community
Checked October 18, 2026
Weekly for accepted work (aim: within two weeks of acceptance)Via Agent of Record (HireArt)Not published

Before you count on a pay day

  • Check what gets paid. On per-task projects, work has to be accepted first; Mindrift says its cycles cover completed and accepted tasks. [source]
  • Note the cutoff. Mercor's weekly payout covers the previous work week, so there is a lag of about five days between your last hour and the money. [source]
  • Set up the payout method before you start. Some platforms pick the provider by country rather than letting you choose; see each platform's profile.
  • Workers compare payout speed often, for example in this r/AiTraining_Annotation thread. Individual posts are anecdotal, not data. [source]

Comparing two platforms? See Mercor vs Outlier and Outlier vs DataAnnotation. Getting in first: How to get accepted.

Try Mercor

Weekly pay to your bank through Stripe or Wise. See Mercor (affiliate link: we may earn a fee if you sign up, at no cost to you).

Sources